Home » Periodical - Index

Online Periodical
New Regions in France

New Regions in France

In 2016 some of the regions in France changed. The following regions merged to form larger unions :

Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes become Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Bourgogne and Franche-Comté become Bourgogne-Franche-Comté
Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne & Lorraine become Grand-Est
Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardie become Hauts-de-France
Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie become Normandie (Normandy in English)
Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes become Nouvelle-Aquitaine
Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées become Occitanie

The Centre region changed its name only to be Centre-Val de Loire.
The other regions remain unchanged :
Bretagne (Brittany in English)
Pays de la Loire

Our site now uses the new regional names as per the map below.

Regional map of France showing the new region changes.

For more info on the regional changes in France please see here : Regions of France

(Published October 2017)

Top of Page

This website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Read our privacy policy for details. X